Edit product


EJ von LYRIK x Benbo: Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah)

Cape Town’s EJ von LYRIK, once hailed by Public Enemy’s Chuck D as in the 'top five of all time female Emcees ever,' is about to punch a hole in her one-way ticket to the Netherlands – but not before she lights a fire under the South African summer with Friday night party anthem ‘Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah)’.

  • "A future boogie classic... mark my words" – Marcia Carr, Mi-Soul
  • "NICE!!!" – Leon Sweet, Paper Recordings/Midnight Riot

With a nu-disco polish from enigmatic Brit ex-pat Pan Electric, a funked up block-rocking rework by EJ's Capetonian brethren RVWR (Do Work Records), and a belter of a deep house remix by the golden flip-flopped Benbo, this jet-powered bird is finally ready to fly. To the runway...


1. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (Pan Electric Radio Mix) (3:49)
2. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (RVWR Remix) (3:13)
3. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (Benbo's Deep N Soulful Extended Remix) (6:00)

Additional tracks on Deluxe Edition:

4. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (Pan Electric Radio Mix – Instrumental) (3:49)
5. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (Pan Electric Radio Mix – Acapella) (3:49)
6. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (RVWR Remix – No Lead Vocal) (3:15)
7. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (Benbo's Deep N Soulful Extended Remix – Instrumental) (6:00)
8. Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah) (Benbo's Deep N Soulful Extended Remix – Acapella) (5:29)

Produced, written & recorded by EJ von LYRIK & Benbo in Cape Town and London.
Additional production & composition by Matt Coldrick in Melbourne (Pan Electric mixes) and Lemuel Witbooi in Cape Town (RVWR mixes).
Published by Pink Lizard Music Limited, except RVWR mixes published by Pink Lizard Music Limited/Copyright Control.
Mastered by Bob Macciochi at SC Mastering.
Cover art by Benbo.

Thank you for considering buying direct from us – it means a greater proportion of your purchase price comes back to the unique independent artists we serve.

You've purchased this product

See it in your library

View in Library
Sorry, this item is not available in your location.
Sold out, please go back and pick another option.
  • MP3: 3 high quality files320kbps, CBR
  • CD-quality: 3 AIFs16-bit, 44.1KHz
  • Deluxe Edition: 8 best-quality master WAVs including extra tracks (plus all of above)24-bit, 44.1KHz
  • Cover artBest quality JPG
  • Liner notes6-page PDF
  • Total playing time13m02s (Standard), 35m21s (Deluxe)


EJ von LYRIK x Benbo: Keep It Funky (Oh No Ah-Ah)

Enter your info to complete your purchase of Deluxe Edition (24-bit WAVs + extra tracks)


···· ···· ···· 4242
Test card



Use a different card?


pp paypal

or pay with

We do not keep any of your sensitive credit card information on file with us unless you ask us to after this purchase is complete.

or pay with

You'll be charged US$5.

Your purchase was successful!

We charged your card and sent you a receipt


    Gumroad Library

    Download from the App Store or text yourself a link to the app

    Good news! Since you already have a Gumroad account, it's also been added to your library.

    Powered by Gumroad